AFCW 4 Quorn 4

AFC Wulfrunians will consider themselves unfortunate not to have taken all three points as it took a late Jake Sedgemore goal to earn them a draw in an eight-goal thriller with Quorn.


Wulfs took the lead after eight minutes- Ricky Anslow’s low cross flew past everybody in the area, but Kyle Brady made a run from deep and hit a powerful first-time effort that rocketed into the top corner.


It took just five minutes for the visitors to level, as Liam Turner flicked a poorly cleared free kick to Leavi Oshungbure, who volleyed past Danny Tipton.


Some impressive play from Jake Webb saw Wulfs retake their lead shortly after. He skipped past two defenders before threading a fantastic ball through for Ricky Anslow, who calmly slotted past Ryan Thacker.


A goal on the stroke of half-time gave Quorn momentum going into the second half. Joseph Hopewell’s free kick was saved onto the post by Tipton, only for Oshungbure to pounce on the rebound to add his second of the day.


Turner capitalised on a mistake at the back for Wulfs, as they failed to deal with a cross, to put the visitors in front with a powerful effort four minutes after the break.


Wulfs levelled in surprising circumstances, as a floated corner from Sedgemore was somehow dropped by Thacker into his own net.


Quorn were awarded a dubious penalty seven minutes from time, as the referee adjudged that a foul had occurred in a scramble for the ball. Jermaine Palmer stepped up and sent Tipton the wrong way.


The visitors had two men sent off in the dying stages, as Ashley Newman denied a clear goal scoring opportunity and then Connor Hughes was given his marching orders for an incident off the ball.


In the final minute of the game, Wulfs’ skipper Sedgemore ensured that his side did not come away from a game that they had lead without a point. After a foul on the edge of the area, he stepped up and curled a wonderful free kick into the top corner, leaving Thacker with no chance.


Next up for Wulfrunians is their final game before Christmas, as they entertain Nuneaton Town in the Birmingham Senior Cup on Tuesday night.


AFC Wulfrunians line up: Tipton, Sedgemore, Perks (Aulak 60), Palmer, Hill, Hunt, Gregg (King 60), Brady (Minto 81), Anslow, Webb, Jevons.


Back to Fixtures & Results