AFCW 2 Coleshill Town 1

Match sponsor: Wulfrun Consulting Ltd

Match ball sponsor: Kingswood Business Park


AFC Wulfrunians recorded an impressive result with a battling victory over high-flying Coleshill Town. Jamie King and Craig Gregg scored either side of a Chris Lloyd strike to give Wulfs the well-deserved win.


It took only nine minutes for King to hit his eighth goal of the season. Scott Stevenson saw his shot deflected, only for King to pick up the rebound and place it beyond the reach of Chris Jay in goal for Coleshill.


The visitors hit back just eight minutes later through Lloyd. A mix up in the Wulfs defence left Matt Brown with the ball deep in their half and with plenty of options for a pass. He found Lloyd in space, who made no mistake of firing past Jono Brown.


Lloyd had another chance to score after 23 minutes; John Hill headed a corner away but it fell to midfielder, who’s shot from the edge was well held by Brown.


Andy Thompson should have put the hosts in front a minute after half time. He was left unmarked at the back post but could not force King’s floating corner into the net.


Some good link-up play between Stevenson and Gregg was unfortunate not to result in a goal. They exchanged passes on the edge of the area but Gregg’s powerful shot fell just wide.


Wulfrunians finally took the lead after 77 minutes. Some great work by substitute Mitch McDonald saw him beat two players on the right before a firing a great cross to Gregg at the near post, who nodded it brilliantly past Jay.


Jake Sedgemore had the chance to put the game beyond doubt with six minutes to go. He lined up a free kick on the edge of the area, but his curled effort just grazed the post.


King was awarded the Man of the Match award by match sponsors Wulfrun Consulting as his early goal set the tone for Wulfrunians’ strong showing. They now move onto a home time against Conference North side Solihull Moors in the Birmingham Senior Cup.


AFC Wulfrunians line up: Brown, Jones, Howells, Sedgemore, Hill, Skedgel, King, Thompson (McDonald 55), Gregg, Stevenson (Haynes 90), Robertson (Rose-Laing 72).


Back to Fixtures & Results